Home> Awards and Honor

HNU professor selected as member of Academia Europaea

Updated: 2021-06-24


A photo of Yang Tianruo, professor of the School of Computer Science and Technology at HNU.

Professor Yang Tianruo from the School of Computer Science and Technology at Hainan University (HNU) has been selected to become a member of the Academia Europaea in 2021.

The Academia Europaea was established in 1988 in London and is a non-governmental pan-European academy of the sciences and humanities with more than 4,500 members, including leading experts in the physical sciences and technology, biological sciences and medicine, mathematics, literature and humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics and law.

Its membership consists of the top scientists and scholars in the humanities and natural sciences in Europe. Amongst them are 74 Nobel laureates, seven Turing Award winners and 15 Fields Medal winners. Invitations are made only after peer group nomination, review and confirmation as to the scholarship and eminence of the individual in their chosen field. The election is confirmed by the Council of the Academia.

Yang has received a double bachelor's degree in computer science and applied physics from Tsinghua University and a doctorate in computer science from the University of Victoria. He is currently researching man-machine physical system designs and data analysis at HNU.

He has been honored as an academician of the Canadian National Academy of Engineering, academician of the Canadian Institute of Engineering, member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), China's overseas high-level talent, globally highly-cited scholar, and an outstanding scientist of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).