Home> News

Hainan University hires four Nobel laureates as consultants

Updated: 2019-08-23

Four Nobel laureates were hired as members of 1st International Consultant Committee by Hainan University (HNU) at the opening ceremony of the World Laureates Sanya Forum on Aug 22.

The members are Erwin Neher, 1991 Nobel Prize winner in physiology or medicine, Aaron Ciechanover, 2004 Nobel Prize winner in chemistry, Michael Levitt, 2013 Nobel Prize winner in chemistry, and Shuji Nakamura, 2014 Nobel Prize winner in physics.


Luo Qingming, president of HNU, presents a letter of appointment to the Nobel laureates.

A sub-forum themed on smart oceans was jointly hosted by HNU and Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics. More than 30 experts and scholars, including Yao Jianquan, member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Jiang Xingwei, member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, discussed the current status and trends in smart oceans, as well as the major demands in cross-ocean telecommunications, ocean energy, and the marine equipment sectors.

A plaque for the Hainan Branch of the Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics was unveiled at the sub-forum in the presence of Xie Jing, head of the Department of Science & Technology of Hainan Province.

In addition, Ye Zhaohui, Yao Jianyuan, Gu Ying, He You, Jiang Xingwei, and Hou Li'an, six academicians from the Chinese Academy of Engineering and the Chinese Academy of Sciences, were hired as HNU's visiting professor.

The three-day World Laureates Sanya Forum was jointly organized by the Hainan Provincial Talent Development Bureau and the Sanya government. It aimed to promote global exchanges and cooperation in sectors including ecological science, marine technology, and modern agriculture.

It attracted some 750 participants, including 21 leading foreign scientists. Among the distinguished guests were 12 Nobel laureates, two Turing Award winners, one Fields Medal winner, two Lasker Award winners, and four Wolf Prize winners.